The painting 

Waves were eating away the sand at the edge of the sea, the weather was hitting my face and the sun was about to fall. 

From afar I saw a young girl washing away the oil colors in a blank white canvas that was standing right infront of her. Her scarf was flying around her, and her feet was naked, touching the sand. When my eyes fell on her all I could feel was a tender calm feeling in my soul. 

I smiled her side, even though she wasn’t looking. I kept watching her without showing, usuing different colors, moving her head both sides to check where her painting has gone so far. 

I started walking her side slowly without realizing, I was finally behind her with a decent distance, despertly watching her painting. 

“Grab a canvas and some paint and paint with me” she uttered 

I was suprised she spoke to me, I was a stranger. 

“Me?” I asked while I got near her, she didn’t lock eyes with me, insted she would continue painting. 

She nodded 

I didn’t grab anything, insted I got closer to her  to have a closer look at the painting. 

“You like it?” She finally locked eyes with me and smiled, I have never seen a smile with such tenderness like hers. 

I didn’t answer her, “what’s this?” 

“It’s Goodness” she answered while painting again 

I went silent for a moment and then said “What?” I didn’t understand 

She smiled but she didn’t look me in the eyes and she went silent 

“I don’t understand” I had to ask, she was something, to me I’ve never seen someone so calming to be around as I felt when I was around her 

She turned around and looked to me and said “it’s goodness, all the goodness in the world” and then she continued 

“Am actually trying to do it for myself” 

And then she went silent looking for a brush, but I went suffocating in my head, how could she make it look so easy? How could she make it look so beautiful? 

“You want to paint your own?” She asked 

I hesitated, I didn’t know how to paint, neither did I know from where to start, it was a hell of a job for me, yet I really wanted to. 

“I would like to, but…” 

the moment she felt I wanted to paint she gave me an empty canvas and a brush. And she went away again in her own painting. 

“I can see in your eyes that you want to drop it and leave, stay here and try to paint it for yourself” she uttered 

So I grabbed my brush and started to figure my canvas out, but insted I watched her paint her own painting and I kept admiring her. 

She was blending, not only with the paint and brushes, but within ; she was blending with her own soul. She would finish a part and she would look my side and smile, she noticed I wasn’t paiting but she didn’t say anything more about it. Insted she would try quickly to finish her own paiting. 

I guess she knew it was hard for me to paint my own, all she wanted for me was to work for my own painting. 

“The things you are really running from are inside you” she sunddenly said while putting her last edits on the painting 

I was suprised, I fell in love with the fact that her words had so much effect on me. I know she wanted me to put my fears to sleep and start painting, insted I smiled and I put my thoughts to the grave, her words made me think and that was the last thing I wanted 

“Here you go” she said while giving me her painting 

“What?! Why?! It’s yours” I said 

“No it’s all for you” she smiled and started collecting her things while I took a long minute to admire her paiting  

After she packed her things she looked me and said “I gave you the canvas and I was sure you will not paint your own, I wanted you to try, but it’s okay” she smiled again 

I didn’t know what to say

“I thought if you couldn’t do it for yourself, I’d do it for you” and then she broke a desperate smile and she gave me her back and waved her hands with a different smile 

I looked at the painting, and how beautiful it was, I look at her leaving the beach, leaving the painting and all that mattered for me in that moment was how she spoke farewell so fluently

Leave a comment